so…..election day party is my favorite party.  I know this was like….2 or 3 months ago, but it is still one of my favorite things in recent memory.

election party

I love having election parties!  they are so fun!  mostly….because of the theme snacks (my favorite theme snack of all time is lemonader, too bad he wasn’t in the running this year).  I feel like we did a really good job with the theme snacks this year.

theme snacks this year included:

political pilsners
campaign trail mix
andes mitts
barackoli salad
yes we pumpCAN roll
barackoli cheese casserole
mitt rominey cheese casserole
obamacarot cake
mint rumneys
four more beers
junior mitts
tobamarones
chex tea party mix
pop rock barack cupcakes
baracky road fudge bars
what race is obama cookies
yes we peCAN cookies
chocolate mitt candies
left wing nuts & G-O-Peanuts
bipartisan punch

my favorite thing on the table was the straw poll.

IMG_1958

my mom helped me decorate!  it was so fun to do this with her.  we went all out.  there were lots of balloons and stuff like that, but ALSO, the hall table was pretty incredible.

IMG_1984

yes, those are pictures of all 44 presidents (and grover cleveland is even on there twice).  mom made the frame with obama and romney and the question mark.  I wanted more themed tableware, but apparently people who shop at party city in OP are republicans, because they only had donkey stuff left, and it just didn’t seem like the right thing to do to not have both sides represented.  but the best thing about this party is that we mostly just eat theme snacks and don’t talk politics.  it’s great.  and refreshing after months of seeing all the dumb campaign ads.  we talk about presidential trivia, and play balderdash, so we can get some more votes in.

here’s to 2016!

 

