when I returned from the pac nw, I picked up my car, reveled in the fixed a/c, and two days later put my stuff back in my suitcase and headed east.  I drove to champaign to visit my friend kim from high school.  I miss her.  her family is still in kc, so I get to see her every once in awhile, but champaign is an easy drive that I don’t mind making.  it’s especially nice that you don’t have to take I-70 between kc and st. louis (my least favorite road to drive on EVER.)

kim and her husband kyle and I spent some time visiting, talking about cloth diapers and getting excited about the little girl they’re about to have, and then the next day kim & I hopped in my car and drove up to the michigan coast.  we stayed at a cute little bed & breakfast, and in general slowed down for a few days.  we spent some time at the beach, watching movies, and being quiet.  it was great!  we also went and got pedicures, and were greeted at the spa by a lady who had a totally inappropriate reaction to us having the same name.  (“are you mother and daughter?”   “are you serious?!?!?!?!?”   “how does that happen?!?!?!“)  seriously, that lady needed to get over it.

I was very excited to cross michigan off my list, and the shore was beautiful.  the beach was very nice, and the water felt SO. GOOD.  so nice and cool.

also, it should be noted that champaign is also home to (in my opinion) the best sushi of all time.  for real.  I have never in my life had sushi that delicious, not even in california.  we ordered way more sushi than necessary for 3 people, and we finished it all off.  I was sad for kim that she was limited in her options, but even the pregnancy-safe ones were so good!!  I am so serious in saying that I would probably make the almost 7 hour drive just for this sushi.  kim & kyle don’t have to worry about not having frequent visits from me as long as ko fusion is in business.

