so, I was an overachiever on quilts due to baby fever 2012.  (and this is not even counting the aloha mod one for addie).  so here is #4.  (I should mention that both this one and selah’s one were finished a few months ago, and I am just now getting around to uploading the pictures).  greta belongs to my friends pat and heidi, whom I adore but don’t get to see very often since they live in memphis.   pat is an old friend from camp, I worked with him all three years.  and, he was actually one of my counselors on the island the first week with the fire.

so, this fabric?  it was an impulse buy.  I saw it as a charm pack on sale when I was buying the fabric bundle for selah’s quilt, and online it looked so cute.  like super, super cute.  and then…when it arrived?  it was so…….not cute.  I mean, it wasn’t horrible, but it REALLY wasn’t my style.  it was really juvenile and cutesy, which is just so not me.  it was not even a little modern, and I wasn’t thrilled with the colors.  how did it look SO cute in the online picture??

ultimately, I decided that, since I am afraid of points, but have always wanted to try a value quilt, using a charm pack I didn’t love was a good opportunity to try it out.  if it didn’t work out, I would scrap it and pick something else.  so I got to work, and was loving how it was turning out, but when I used up the whole charm pack, it was just a little bigger than a placemat.  so….pretty small.  so, I actually had to buy more of this fabric-I-didn’t-love, and lucky me, quilter’s haven had a handful of the charm packs.  I also bought a few quarter yards of a few other lighter-value prints, because the charm pack had a few too many that were darker-value.  it was hard for me to actually pick up a bolt of fabric with dragonflies on it.  ugh.  but you know what?

I love this quilt.

I love how it came together.  it makes me want to make so many more value quilts.  it took fabrics that I was not excited about, and made me love them.  it was such a fun quilt to make!  and making the half-square triangles from the charm pack (2 squares making 2 identical half-square triangle squares) was SO MUCH less scary than actually sewing triangles.  I also know myself well enough to know that I had to give myself some wiggle room, so I squared up each block to a smaller size than if it was perfect.  I know that that’s kind of a sloppy technique, and wastes a bit of fabric, but for me it was totally worth it to keep my sanity and actually enjoy this project.  and I would have had to do some trimming anyway to deal with the pinked edges.

I love learning more about color, and fabric choice, and how to use them to my advantage, and this project taught me a lot about value and how to use that to my advantage.  I am pretty proud of how this project turned out, and I had no reservations about going with it and mailing it off to greta.  (um….even though it took me like 2 months to get to the post office!!  sorry pat & heidi & greta!  does anyone else have trouble making it to the post office??)  the backing was one of the only prints I really liked on it its own (so glad that quilter’s haven had some yardage of it).  the binding is a solid color, and I think it was a good choice.  I quilted it stitch in the ditch, because that is apparently all I do.  I think that more intricate quilting should be my next goal.

hopefully linsey and I will have lily’s quilt done before too long, so that I can move on to the largest (but I am hoping not most difficult) project I’ve ever attempted.  hooray!

