so for some stupid reason, I decided to challenge myself on my spring quilts this year for baby fever 2012.  sometimes it was okay and worked out, sometimes it made me angry and was a challenge.  this one had a little bit of both.  this quilt is for selah (say-la), who belongs to robbie and mel.  robbie is my oldest friend.  we have been friends for almost 25 years.  that is a long time.  here is a picture of selah showing that we are kindred spirits due to love of jeggings.  way to go selah.  just remember, that if your jeggings have a fake fly, and you wear them every day for the entire winter, know that when you wear a pair of normal pants, you have to remember to zip the fly.  I speak from experience. 

overall this was a pretty challenging project.  I’d had the fabric for awhile–it was a custom bundle from fabricworm.  I was nervous at first, because all of the echino prints were kind of a weird fabric–more linen-y and canvas-y than normal quilting cottons.  I went back and forth over whether or not to use them, and in the end lindsey convinced me it would be okay.  also, I have a strict NO POINTS rule when I quilt.  only rectangles or squares (or even circles!  circles are better than points!!)  but….with all the chevron business that is so trendy right now, I decided to give it a go and see how it went.  and honestly, it wouldn’t have been so bad if I wasn’t an idiot.  really, that should be my tagline when I sew,

“it wouldn’t have been so bad if I wasn’t an idiot.”

I make so many ridiculous mistakes it’s not even funny.  I know I say this all the time, but it is the honest truth.  see that light blue solid-ish on the left? I did an entire section of the quilt using the WRONG side of this fabric.  don’t ask me how these things happen, I don’t know how I get out of bed in the morning.  but I didn’t have enough of everything to redo it, so I had to rip it all apart (FUN!) and then redo it, only I redid it with the exact same mistake (HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN!) and had to rip it out and do it again.  only since it had been cut on the wrong angle, I couldn’t just flip it over, I had to sew two scraps together and then cut a new parallelogram.  which I had been avoiding all along by sewing horizontal strips together and then cutting them at an angle.  ugh.  it was horrible.  there might have been tears, swearing, or a combination of the two.

since it had points, I was very nervous, and tossed around three different options for sewing the columns together.  I knew the more sashing I had, the more I could fake it if my points were bad.  so the one with more sashing would have been the easiest.  I asked the opinion of several friends, and the consensus was to go with…NO SASHING.  what in the heck.  I was very scared, but they all told me “you can do it!”  and guess what!  I did!  I am glad I went with no sashing.  it was okay.  it just took a lot of pinning.

I think the echino fabrics turned out okay.  I think the colors probably match their style pretty well (mel likes a lot of bold colors), and I really, really like that print on the back.  can you see all the crazy animals?  my only concern is that I have reservations about the strength of the thread I used to tack down the binding.  I don’t know why it turned out so sketch–it’s gutterman, so really it shouldn’t have been too bad, but after I washed it, the stitching seems pretty loose and it makes me nervous.  I hope that mel isn’t too shy to tell me if it falls apart and I need to fix it!  maybe it had something to do with the weird echino fabric?  who knows.

it took me several tries to decide how to quilt it, I ended up just stitching in the ditch along the zig-zags, and I tried many options of thread colors.  I ended up using teal on the front and plum on the back.  in my head I heard bon qui qui saying “but don’t get crazy” but I did it anyway.  I will cut you.

overall I am happy with the way it turned out.  the points still freak me out.  ps, thanks to cindy for her helpful tutorial business!!!

