so my sister what’sup! tagged me for this 11 things business.  which is fine by me because I have felt pretty non-creative lately and this gives me something to write about!  I’m going to do it across two days because I am kind of long-winded.

Here are the rules:

1.  Post the rules.
2.  Post a photo of yourself and 11 random things.
3.  Answer the questions set for you in the original post.
4.  Create 11 new questions and tag people to answer them.
5.  Go to their blog/twitter/facebook and tell them that you’ve tagged them.

here is a picture of me and my friend lindsey last december on her birthday.  lindsey is such a good friend and I am so thankful she is in my life!  she is moving (!!!!!) to the kc area and it brings so much joy to my heart.  I will be glad (and so will she, I think) when her transition period is over and they have all their business taken care of in the move, so she can start to get settled in gard-ville.  I am thankful to be here to help her with the transition because transition can be hard.  she and bobby are two of my favorite friends and I am glad they are in my life.  plus she motivates and inspires me to quilt and helps me and gives me advice.  thanks friend.

11 random things about me.

1.  I was a girl scout until I graduated from high school.  yes that is a thing.  BUT, also note, I was never a brownie, I did not join until I was 10.  I think that scouts in general are pretty awesome and I think they make pretty good kids.  really, getting kids involved in any way is a good plan.  but I think that being involved in a lot of service really shapes character and that’s something I think is important for kids.  I always wanted to be a good kid so I liked girl scouts an awful lot.  I think that girl scouts also kind of started my love of learning.  it was always fun to try new stuff and get interested in stuff I didn’t know much about.

2.  I LOVE cooking but don’t really enjoy baking.  I don’t really like to measure stuff.  period.  and it’s hard to get around that in baking.  I also really really like my food to be seasoned, like over-seasoned.  I would always rather err on the side of way too much.  this is probably not a good thing and I’m sure not everyone appreciates it.  I also have a crazy affinity for salt. I love it so.  this is not a good thing health-wise.

3.  I drink a LOT of water.  especially when I teach.  I drain my giant nalgene at least two or three times a day.  if I forget it somewhere and don’t have it at school it is a bad day.  I also have to have a straw.  my teeth are really sensitive and I do a lot better with a straw.  I am so glad that my classroom is near the library where we have a nice cold water fountain so I can refill my bottle whenever I want.

4.  I am having a severe underwear crisis.  this is probably not a thing I should discuss on the internet but michelle is the one that tagged me and she is the queen of talking about things on the internet that you should probably not talk about on the internet so here I go.  SERIOUSLY people.  this is like a major stress in my life for the past two years.  I have literally worn the exact same kind of underwear since 8th grade and all of a sudden a few years ago victoria’s secret went and changed the freakin design.  like changed it in a BIG WAY.  it’s cut lower in the back, which is annoying, but even more annoying is that they cut like three inches off each side in the back.  what in the freakin heck victoria’s secret!!!  that’s like six inches total! (I’m a math teacher, I know.)  and listen, I know that my butt is not exactly small (the cheerleaders told me this all the time, thanks, super helpful), but it is also not abnormally humongous.  and I do not understand how this is working for anyone else.  I can wear the new underwear for all of about two minutes before it goes straight up my butt crack.  I don’t know how I am supposed to deal with constant wedgie time.  I have tried other styles or brands, from many places, and none of them are as good as the old stuff.  I just want something that is not skanky but is comfortable.  I don’t want to have to think about my underwear during the day.  apparently this is a tall order to fill.  thanks for listening.

5.  I always knew I wanted to be a teacher.  I am so thankful for this.  and high school is where I belong.  I love teaching my little kids in sunday school, but high school is where I am really in my element.

6.  I love Girl Talk.  as in the musical artist, not as in the game where you had to put on zit stickers when you did bad.  really, Girl Talk is so up my alley and I love him.  I love what he does with music and I could (and sometimes do) listen to it all day.  sometimes I will be like “okay, maybe I should listen to something else instead of girl talk 24/7, so I’ll put on something else, but as soon as it’s over, it’s back to girl talk.  All Day is one of my favorite albums of all time.  I think it’s amazing what he can do with lots of different music from lots of different genres.

7.  I used to be cold ALL THE TIME but about a year or two ago something in my body changed and now I am hot ALL THE TIME.  it’s awful.  not a fan.

8.  I am really not as good at sewing as people think I am.  this isn’t false modesty, it’s the truth.  I am not very skilled, at all.  I make the dumbest mistakes ever, on a very regular basis, and I can’t measure or cut accurately to save my life.  what I am good at is picking stuff that I can handle.  I know how to deal with my shortcomings and downplay them.  if you can do that then you can trick people into thinking you’re good.

9.  I think it is important to try new things.  whether it be food or hobbies or activities or any other skill, I think it makes life way better.  it was so fun and challenging for me to join the color guard in college with no experience, and I loved it.  I love learning other smaller skills–like running the scoreboard at basketball games, or running the timing system at track meets.  I love learning about stuff like that.  (interesting fact! do you know why basketball players numbers’ all have digits of 5 or less?  it’s so when the officials call in the foul, they can hold up the digits on their fingers if it’s noisy.  “foul’s on blue 5-2, blue 5-2!”)  so take a class, learn a new skill, try a new food.  it makes life better.

10.  I LOVE BOARD GAMES!  a lot.  I really like a lot of those crazy german strategy games….like settlers, pandemic, bohnanza, carcassonne, and puerto rico.  I also like trivia games or  other party type games like taboo and catchphrase.  I also love doing puzzles.  especially americana puzzles with old timey scenes.

11.  I hate beer.  I like wine an awful lot and there are plenty of mixed drinks I like, but beer is gross.  Except sometimes it’s good for cooking.

stay tuned for part 2 tomorrow!

