so, I don’t want to say too much about this book, because I really, really feel like it would totally ruin this book if you knew pretty much anything about it.  so I will be brief.

1.  I think I liked it.  I am honestly not sure yet.

2.  I definitely didn’t like it that much until it was almost over.  then my opinion changed pretty quickly.

3.  I think this book would have been WAY better if I had someone to talk about it with.  (on a side note, I did find out last night that david has read it so it was good to discuss it a bit.)  I think it would make an excellent book club selection.  I would have enjoyed it more if I had been able to process it with conversation.  BUT, I think you’d have to be in the same spot as the other person.  read it at the same pace? there is a good discussion guide at the back of the book (but I don’t think you should read the questions til you have finished the book!)

4.  I was very conflicted (and in a way I still am) over whether or not it is a true story.  the introduction alludes that it is, but it is a novel, and I just had a hard time with not knowing.  I just really wanted to know.  it was challenging.

5.  in case you are wondering, which you probably are, because this has been EVERYONE’S question, NO, it is not about math 🙂  at all.  Pi is the guy’s name.  it’s about zoos, and different religions, and shipwrecks.  that is all I will tell you.

6.  have you read this book?  let’s get together and discuss it.

